close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr

In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River

2017-12-02 14:00:00 2017-12-02 15:00:00 America/New_York Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr Join us on Saturday, December 2nd to hear a reading from In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee River. Maumee

Saturday, December 02
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2017-12-02 14:00:00 2017-12-02 15:00:00 America/New_York Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr Join us on Saturday, December 2nd to hear a reading from In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee River. Maumee

Join us on Saturday, December 2nd to hear a reading from In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee River.

Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr

The Maumee River Basin is the largest watershed in the Great Lakes region, collecting runoff from more than 6,600 square miles in Indiana, Ohio, and Michigan and depositing it in Lake Erie—though as the lake’s largest tributary the river’s influence is not entirely positive. In this lively, ruminative book, Ryan Schnurr explores the history, ecology, and culture of the Maumee River, from the influence of glaciers, through its role in Native American and American history, to contemporary environmental issues. Part cultural history, part nature writing, part personal narrative, In the Watershed is a lyrical work of nonfiction in the vein of John McPhee and Ian Frazier with a timely and important message at the core.

Join us on Saturday, December 2nd , at the Maumee Branch of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library, to hear a reading from the book and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee, and share your own stories of the river.

Books will be available for purchase and signing.

About the Author

Ryan Schnurr is a writer from northeast Indiana. His work has been published in Belt Magazine, Midwestern Gothic, and Old Northwest Review, and has been selected for inclusion in two regional anthologies: Rust Belt Chicago: An Anthology (2017) and Voices from the Rust Belt (2018). His first book of nonfiction, In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River, is out now from Belt Publishing.

Advance Praise for In the Watershed

“Every watershed needs observers who monitor its health, who care about the quality of wild and human life it supports. The Maumee Valley now has a new and keen-eyed caretaker in Ryan Schnurr, who has written an engaging narrative about a journey downriver from the headwaters to Lake Erie…” — Scott Russell Sanders, author of Earth Works: Selected Essays and A Conservationist Manifesto

“I am entranced by this slender, luminous volume. Ryan Schnurr has created a subtle monument to a place that we overlook, yet glows with sacredness under his measured gaze. Delightful.” — Luis Alberto Urrea, author of The Devil’s Highway and Into the Beautiful North

“Ryan Schnurr is a keeper of the spirit of John McPhee, Edward Abbey, and Annie Dillard. The Maumee River may be relatively small and unknown, but reading this book it’ll feel as big and important as the Mississippi. It’s a rich, complex, and fragile place, and Schnurr is a superb guide through it.” — Mark Athitakis, author of The New Midwest: A Guide to Contemporary Fiction of the Great Lakes, Great Plains, and Rust Belt

AGE GROUP: | Teens | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books & Authors | Adult Program |

Maumee

Phone: 419.259.5360

Hours
We're closed Thursday November 22
Mon, Nov 12 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 13 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 14 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Nov 15 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Fri, Nov 16 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Sat, Nov 17 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Sun, Nov 18 Closed

About the branch

Steeped in history, the Maumee Branch continues to be the cultural hub of its community. It is the home of Read for Literacy’s Claire’s Day reading celebration, concerts on the lawn, local art exhibitions, and more.

Maumee is the hallmark of this family-oriented community. Adults gather to catch up on news and attend relevant programs, while children attend storytimes and library play dates. Everyone enjoys exploring and relaxing in the Reading Garden.

Upcoming events

Gallery
Sat, Nov 17, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Mon, Nov 19, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Story Hour Room
Mon, Nov 19, 7:00pm - 7:30pm

Gallery
Tue, Nov 20, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Story Hour Room
Tue, Nov 20, 10:00am - 10:30am

Gallery
Wed, Nov 21, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Story Hour Room
Wed, Nov 21, 10:00am - 10:20am

Children's Area
Wed, Nov 21, 11:00am - 11:25am

Gallery
Thu, Nov 22, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Fri, Nov 23, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Story Hour Room
Fri, Nov 23, 10:00am - 2:00pm

Gallery
Sat, Nov 24, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Mon, Nov 26, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Story Hour Room
Mon, Nov 26, 7:00pm - 7:30pm

Gallery
Tue, Nov 27, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Story Hour Room
Tue, Nov 27, 10:00am - 10:30am

Gallery
Wed, Nov 28, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Story Hour Room
Wed, Nov 28, 10:00am - 10:20am

Children's Area
Wed, Nov 28, 11:00am - 11:25am

Auditorium
Wed, Nov 28, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Gallery
Thu, Nov 29, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Fri, Nov 30, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Story Hour Room
Fri, Nov 30, 10:00am - 2:00pm

Gallery
Sat, Dec 01, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Sat, Dec 01, 9:00am - 12:00pm

Gallery
Mon, Dec 03, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Gallery
Tue, Dec 04, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Story Hour Room
Tue, Dec 04, 10:00am - 11:30am

Gallery
Wed, Dec 05, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Auditorium
Wed, Dec 05, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Dec 05, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Gallery
Thu, Dec 06, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Fri, Dec 07, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Story Hour Room
Fri, Dec 07, 10:00am - 2:00pm

Gallery
Sat, Dec 08, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Auditorium
Sat, Dec 08, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Gallery
Mon, Dec 10, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Gallery
Tue, Dec 11, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Story Hour Room
Tue, Dec 11, 10:00am - 11:30am

Gallery
Wed, Dec 12, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Auditorium
Wed, Dec 12, 10:00am - 11:00am

Auditorium
Wed, Dec 12, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Gallery
Thu, Dec 13, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Fri, Dec 14, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Story Hour Room
Fri, Dec 14, 10:00am - 2:00pm

Gallery
Sat, Dec 15, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Mon, Dec 17, 9:00am - 9:00pm