close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr

In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River

2017-12-02 14:00:00 2017-12-02 15:00:00 America/New_York Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr Join us on Saturday, December 2nd to hear a reading from In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee River. Maumee

Saturday, December 02
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2017-12-02 14:00:00 2017-12-02 15:00:00 America/New_York Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr Join us on Saturday, December 2nd to hear a reading from In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee River. Maumee

Join us on Saturday, December 2nd to hear a reading from In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee River.

Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr

The Maumee River Basin is the largest watershed in the Great Lakes region, collecting runoff from more than 6,600 square miles in Indiana, Ohio, and Michigan and depositing it in Lake Erie—though as the lake’s largest tributary the river’s influence is not entirely positive. In this lively, ruminative book, Ryan Schnurr explores the history, ecology, and culture of the Maumee River, from the influence of glaciers, through its role in Native American and American history, to contemporary environmental issues. Part cultural history, part nature writing, part personal narrative, In the Watershed is a lyrical work of nonfiction in the vein of John McPhee and Ian Frazier with a timely and important message at the core.

Join us on Saturday, December 2nd , at the Maumee Branch of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library, to hear a reading from the book and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee, and share your own stories of the river.

Books will be available for purchase and signing.

About the Author

Ryan Schnurr is a writer from northeast Indiana. His work has been published in Belt Magazine, Midwestern Gothic, and Old Northwest Review, and has been selected for inclusion in two regional anthologies: Rust Belt Chicago: An Anthology (2017) and Voices from the Rust Belt (2018). His first book of nonfiction, In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River, is out now from Belt Publishing.

Advance Praise for In the Watershed

“Every watershed needs observers who monitor its health, who care about the quality of wild and human life it supports. The Maumee Valley now has a new and keen-eyed caretaker in Ryan Schnurr, who has written an engaging narrative about a journey downriver from the headwaters to Lake Erie…” — Scott Russell Sanders, author of Earth Works: Selected Essays and A Conservationist Manifesto

“I am entranced by this slender, luminous volume. Ryan Schnurr has created a subtle monument to a place that we overlook, yet glows with sacredness under his measured gaze. Delightful.” — Luis Alberto Urrea, author of The Devil’s Highway and Into the Beautiful North

“Ryan Schnurr is a keeper of the spirit of John McPhee, Edward Abbey, and Annie Dillard. The Maumee River may be relatively small and unknown, but reading this book it’ll feel as big and important as the Mississippi. It’s a rich, complex, and fragile place, and Schnurr is a superb guide through it.” — Mark Athitakis, author of The New Midwest: A Guide to Contemporary Fiction of the Great Lakes, Great Plains, and Rust Belt

AGE GROUP: | Teens | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books & Authors | Adult Program |

Maumee

Phone: 419.259.5360

Hours
We're closed Sunday May 26
We're closed Monday May 27
Mon, May 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, May 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, May 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, May 23 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Fri, May 24 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Sat, May 25 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Sun, May 26 Closed

About the branch

Upcoming events

Wed, May 22, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Thu, May 23, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Fri, May 24, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Sat, May 25, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Mon, May 27, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Tue, May 28, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Wed, May 29, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Wed, May 29, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Auditorium

Thu, May 30, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Fri, May 31, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Sat, Jun 01, 9:00am - 12:00pm
General Space

Sat, Jun 01, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Sat, Jun 01, 10:00am - 10:20am
Story Hour Room

Mon, Jun 03, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Mon, Jun 03, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Auditorium
This event is full

Mon, Jun 03, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Story Hour Room

Tue, Jun 04, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Tue, Jun 04, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Hour Room

Wed, Jun 05, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Wed, Jun 05, 10:00am - 10:20am
Story Hour Room

Wed, Jun 05, 11:00am - 11:30am
Story Hour Room

Wed, Jun 05, 12:15pm - 1:15pm
Auditorium

Wed, Jun 05, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Auditorium

Thu, Jun 06, 9:00am - 12:00pm
General Space

Thu, Jun 06, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Thu, Jun 06, 10:00am - 11:00am
Auditorium

Fri, Jun 07, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Sat, Jun 08, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Sat, Jun 08, 10:00am - 10:20am
Story Hour Room

Mon, Jun 10, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Mon, Jun 10, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Story Hour Room

Tue, Jun 11, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Tue, Jun 11, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Hour Room

Tue, Jun 11, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Outdoors

Wed, Jun 12, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Wed, Jun 12, 10:00am - 11:00am
General Space

Wed, Jun 12, 10:00am - 10:20am
Story Hour Room

Wed, Jun 12, 11:00am - 11:30am
Story Hour Room

Wed, Jun 12, 12:15pm - 1:15pm
Auditorium

Wed, Jun 12, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Auditorium

Thu, Jun 13, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Fri, Jun 14, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Sat, Jun 15, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Sat, Jun 15, 10:00am - 10:20am
Story Hour Room

Mon, Jun 17, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Mon, Jun 17, 2:30pm - 3:30pm
Auditorium

Mon, Jun 17, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Story Hour Room

Tue, Jun 18, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Tue, Jun 18, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Hour Room

Tue, Jun 18, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Auditorium

Wed, Jun 19, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Wed, Jun 19, 10:00am - 10:20am
Story Hour Room

Wed, Jun 19, 11:00am - 11:30am
Story Hour Room

Thu, Jun 20, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery

Thu, Jun 20, 10:00am - 11:00am
Auditorium

Fri, Jun 21, 9:00am - 5:30pm
Gallery