close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr

In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River

2017-12-02 14:00:00 2017-12-02 15:00:00 America/New_York Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr Join us on Saturday, December 2nd to hear a reading from In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee River. Maumee

Saturday, December 02
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2017-12-02 14:00:00 2017-12-02 15:00:00 America/New_York Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr Join us on Saturday, December 2nd to hear a reading from In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee River. Maumee

Join us on Saturday, December 2nd to hear a reading from In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee River.

Open Book presents Ryan Schnurr

The Maumee River Basin is the largest watershed in the Great Lakes region, collecting runoff from more than 6,600 square miles in Indiana, Ohio, and Michigan and depositing it in Lake Erie—though as the lake’s largest tributary the river’s influence is not entirely positive. In this lively, ruminative book, Ryan Schnurr explores the history, ecology, and culture of the Maumee River, from the influence of glaciers, through its role in Native American and American history, to contemporary environmental issues. Part cultural history, part nature writing, part personal narrative, In the Watershed is a lyrical work of nonfiction in the vein of John McPhee and Ian Frazier with a timely and important message at the core.

Join us on Saturday, December 2nd , at the Maumee Branch of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library, to hear a reading from the book and talk with the author about the history, present, and future of the Maumee, and share your own stories of the river.

Books will be available for purchase and signing.

About the Author

Ryan Schnurr is a writer from northeast Indiana. His work has been published in Belt Magazine, Midwestern Gothic, and Old Northwest Review, and has been selected for inclusion in two regional anthologies: Rust Belt Chicago: An Anthology (2017) and Voices from the Rust Belt (2018). His first book of nonfiction, In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River, is out now from Belt Publishing.

Advance Praise for In the Watershed

“Every watershed needs observers who monitor its health, who care about the quality of wild and human life it supports. The Maumee Valley now has a new and keen-eyed caretaker in Ryan Schnurr, who has written an engaging narrative about a journey downriver from the headwaters to Lake Erie…” — Scott Russell Sanders, author of Earth Works: Selected Essays and A Conservationist Manifesto

“I am entranced by this slender, luminous volume. Ryan Schnurr has created a subtle monument to a place that we overlook, yet glows with sacredness under his measured gaze. Delightful.” — Luis Alberto Urrea, author of The Devil’s Highway and Into the Beautiful North

“Ryan Schnurr is a keeper of the spirit of John McPhee, Edward Abbey, and Annie Dillard. The Maumee River may be relatively small and unknown, but reading this book it’ll feel as big and important as the Mississippi. It’s a rich, complex, and fragile place, and Schnurr is a superb guide through it.” — Mark Athitakis, author of The New Midwest: A Guide to Contemporary Fiction of the Great Lakes, Great Plains, and Rust Belt

AGE GROUP: | Teens | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books & Authors | Adult Program |

Maumee

Phone: 419.259.5360

Hours
Mon, Mar 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Mar 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Mar 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Mar 21 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Fri, Mar 22 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Sat, Mar 23 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Sun, Mar 24 Closed

About the branch

Upcoming events

Gallery
Tue, Mar 19, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Story Hour Room
Tue, Mar 19, 10:00am - 10:30am

Gallery
Wed, Mar 20, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Story Hour Room
Wed, Mar 20, 10:00am - 10:20am

Story Hour Room
Wed, Mar 20, 11:00am - 11:25am

Gallery
Thu, Mar 21, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Fri, Mar 22, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Sat, Mar 23, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Auditorium
Sat, Mar 23, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Gallery
Mon, Mar 25, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Auditorium
Mon, Mar 25, 6:45pm - 8:30pm

Story Hour Room
Mon, Mar 25, 7:00pm - 7:30pm

Gallery
Tue, Mar 26, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Story Hour Room
Tue, Mar 26, 10:00am - 10:30am

Auditorium
Tue, Mar 26, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Gallery
Wed, Mar 27, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Story Hour Room
Wed, Mar 27, 10:00am - 10:20am

Story Hour Room
Wed, Mar 27, 11:00am - 11:25am

Auditorium
Wed, Mar 27, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Gallery
Thu, Mar 28, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Fri, Mar 29, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Gallery
Sat, Mar 30, 9:00am - 5:30pm

Auditorium
Mon, Apr 01, 6:45pm - 8:30pm

Story Hour Room
Mon, Apr 01, 7:00pm - 7:30pm

Story Hour Room
Tue, Apr 02, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Hour Room
Wed, Apr 03, 10:00am - 10:20am

Story Hour Room
Wed, Apr 03, 11:00am - 11:25am

Auditorium
Wed, Apr 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Auditorium
Thu, Apr 04, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

General Space
Sat, Apr 06, 9:00am - 12:00pm

Sat, Apr 06, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Auditorium
Mon, Apr 08, 6:45pm - 8:30pm

Story Hour Room
Mon, Apr 08, 7:00pm - 7:30pm

Story Hour Room
Tue, Apr 09, 10:00am - 10:30am

Auditorium
Wed, Apr 10, 10:00am - 11:00am

Story Hour Room
Wed, Apr 10, 10:00am - 10:20am

Story Hour Room
Wed, Apr 10, 11:00am - 11:25am

Auditorium
Mon, Apr 15, 6:45pm - 8:30pm

Story Hour Room
Mon, Apr 15, 7:00pm - 7:30pm

Story Hour Room
Tue, Apr 16, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Hour Room
Wed, Apr 17, 10:00am - 10:20am

Story Hour Room
Wed, Apr 17, 11:00am - 11:25am

Auditorium
Thu, Apr 18, 10:00am - 11:00am